Projects in 2013

9 Jan

So, we’re underway in 2013, and the first thing we are up to is cleaning and beautifying our ugly-ass apartment. I’m feeling all Manhattan Nest, and if we are going to live here for a while, we need to get this apartment feeling like it’s a livable space.

Of course, there are some impediments to this, including things that I’ve purchased over the past year with intentions, but which have yet to resolve. Like a bunch of bottles (for the failed vanilla project) and Mason jars (because I read Tamar Adler’s Everlasting Meal and thought I would want to save leftovers in glass jars). So yeah, gotta get rid of, or repurpose, these things. If I can get my nerve up, I’m going to try to replace our ugly light fixtures with something more attractive. You know, stuff like that.

We are also going to be potty training the baby this year. And we are going to pull a 3-day weekend of no-pants, no-diapers. Maybe. But poop. So, I don’t really know yet.

And I know that you all want to know exactly how baby is doing nowadays. He is speaking up a storm, this morning he was shout-singing the ABC song in his crib at 6:30. When I get up to get him, I like to knock on the door, and he sing-song responds, “Commeeee Iiiinnn!” When I take him to the neighborhood coffee shop for coffee and muffins (well, coffee for me), he likes to clean up the trash, toting it across the cafe by himself to put it in the can. Then he takes our plates and glasses, puts them on the bar, and says “thank you!” Well, it’s more like “dank-u”, but it’s getting close.

He eats a ton…of bread and cheese and yogurt and sometimes fish and chicken and sometimes meat. And fruit! But still nary a vegetable, and I’ve made brussel sprouts 15 different ways. We’re not going to worry about it at this point, but geez it is a bit annoying. And no, I’m not going to put spinach in brownies, thank you very much. What are you people, monsters?

Lately he has been toddling around on his balance bike as well, even in the cold. Seriously, what is it about toddlers and their inability to wear mittens or gloves? Crazy brains. I think he’s just an accidental hop-step from realizing that he can coast on it rather than just walk on it, but we’ll see.

I’m also trying to take a lot more video this year, little clips every day or so. I’ll start posting interesting stuff when, well, I get some interesting stuff. Lately it’s stuff like this, crappy quality, but rather hilarious:

Exciting stuff, right? Amiright?

2 Responses to “Projects in 2013”

  1. Beth January 9, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    I’ve got an entire case of Mason jars from my failed olive curing experiment. I’d be happy to send them to you and I’m sure you could do something with all that glass for your light fixtures!

  2. Peter January 9, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Right. Like one of these things?

Leave a Reply

