Here’s what I’d like for the boy

31 May

I’d like him to be one of the cheering kids here. There are many things I am agnostic about – what he does for a living, where he lives, whom he loves. I want him to be a good person, who stands up for what’s right even when what’s right is not what’s easy. Who stands up for people who can not stand up for themselves. Who cheers on another kid with spastic cerebral palsy. I honestly don’t know how much I was that person, or how much I am that person now (I certainly am more now than I was then). But I so much want that for our boy.

Oh, yeah, this is probably going to make you cry. Get some tissue.

One Response to “Here’s what I’d like for the boy”

  1. Erica June 1, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    I love this. Totally made me cry. I guess the big question is: how do you teach your kids that? I’m not sure of the answer, but I imagine modeling plays a big part. I bet that coach – the first one out there supporting Matt — has influenced and inspired a lot of people in his life. I hope I can be that guy, at least once in a while.

Leave a Reply

