2012 Theme and 12 for ’12

30 Dec

Working, working on it. I think, after careful discussion with wife and co-conspirator AP, that 2012 is going to be the Year of Doing My Best Work. Or at least trying hard to do more of my best work. I have in mind some version of being present in the present, and of trying to actually give my full faith and effort to the work that I’m doing. Of course, 2012 is going to be the year of starting new stuff (work in particular), and BB’s second year, so there are specifics to worry over. But if not ‘best’ work, at least trying harder to do better work, sweat the details, stop dropping the ball, and just being mindful about doing the best I can under the circumstances, that would make 2012 awesome. Plus, it’s one of those things that, even if I fall short, better is better.

As far as 12 for ’12, I want to try a project list, a la 2011’s project list. I have some of the same energies for this as I did in this year, but some things (like the board book) seem to have lost some appeal for me along the way. Making baby food seemed more interesting last year than now, but Sunday Dinners or some regular family meal sounds a lot more interesting now than it did last year. Also, more family recipes to make, so far I’ve ended 2011 with Grandma Sylvia’s matzo ball soup and brisket, and both turned out quite well. I’m going to try to do more of that in the coming year.

Have a great New Year’s eve, and more importantly, a wonderful 2012. We have a lot of love to share, and we know exactly where it goes – to each other, to baby, and to you.

Oh, and I almost forgot. From Kung-Fu Panda:

3 Responses to “2012 Theme and 12 for ’12”

  1. Davin December 31, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    … And lots and lots of Heroscape!

  2. AP January 9, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    An awesome theme : )

  3. Peter January 10, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Thanks AP, your thoughts really helped to consolidate 2012’s theme (now we need….theme music!).

    Davin, we’re doing quarterly game night this year, let’s figure out how to fit HS into the mix.

Leave a Reply

