What NYC could be

6 Jun

A few revelations from the weekend, when my best friend and his new lady friend came into town for a visit:

  • I am not making enough of my time on this Earth. In two and a half days, they went to a Broadway play, rented bikes to ride around Central Park, walked from midtown up through the Park to the Upper West Side, explored an old renovated Church someplace in who knows where, had a few drinks in SoHo, went to dinner in Gramercy, met his sister to catch up, went to the food trucks down at the soccer field in Red Hook, visited Ground Zero, and won a lottery for tickets to go to the David Letterman show (which they are doing today). My normal day: get a little work done at a coffee shop, pick up milk at the store, try to clean up around the house a little, take care of baby.
  • We should go out more, with the baby. Our nighttime routine is working well enough that we don’t fuck with it. And as a result, we don’t really take the babe out to dinner with us, because he’s…sleeping! But apparently this is a small window of opportunity of which we are not taking full advantage.
  • Energy begets energy. I always try to understand my friends who are so energetic that they seem to get 5-10x the stuff done in a day that I manage. I am beginning to suspect that energy begets energy.
  • Don’t be a hater. My best friend is kind of one, and I don’t want to be that guy. Actually, he is just defensive about his choices, and assumes (rightly, I think, but also exaggeratedly) that others are judging him more than they are. But I want to be more positive about Gaia and her bounteous gifts.

I miss ohana. I mean, not really my family, which is something of a traipse into Crazytown, but you know, some extended family of choice. I really love having my friends around, and right now we are in quasi-virtual community of friends. Our ‘closest’ friends in NYC are not nearby, and despite everyone saying that kids are going to bring us a slew of people who will become our favorite peoples in the whole snicker-loving world, that has not yet happened. I’m adding ‘be closer to friends’ (whether we make more friends closer to where we are, or move closer to where they already exist) to my list. And I’m putting it above ‘get pony.’

3 Responses to “What NYC could be”

  1. Davin June 6, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Re: your last paragraph,

    Hey! Have you guys considered moving to Queenz? You’d have more space. And, y’know, other good stuff.

  2. Peter June 6, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I like it, man. It’s like you have a script going, which checks daily for new posts, then responds how awesome Queens is. I’m getting spammed by a Queens-bot!

  3. Alan June 7, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    We miss you all! Baby J just hit 6 months and is keen to catch up with baby B before long. The crepe-flavored milk only gets her so far, and she’s already tried putting everything in Paris into her mouth so we’re keen to see what new things there are in NY.

Leave a Reply

