Water

1 Jun

I got a little cute with my attempts to get baby to sleep through the night. I had been reducing the amount of formula per ounces, from 1 scoop / 2oz. to 1.5 scoops, to 1 scoop. Then last Thursday I decided to just full-on give the boy water instead of any formula at all, at his 2am wake-up.

The result? He took two tries at the bottle, looked at me like I was a total asshole, and began to cry. I responded by putting him back in his sleep sack and trying to get him to go back to bed. His polite rejoinder was to cry on-and-off for the next three hours, until baby mama fed him at 5am.

On Friday, bleary-eyed and pissed off at everyone and everything, we packed up and went to Boston to visit ohana for the weekend. I got a wicked summer cold. We switched all the back to baby mama doing the midnight feeding as breastfeeding rather than bottle. Baby continued his 3am wake-up, then 5:30 wake-up throughout the weekend. Then wife got sick for the ride home. Now we’re home, baby is back to waking up at 3am, then 6am, I fed him in the morning with a full-flavored formula bottle, and now he’s getting a cold.

So, yeah, definitely lost that round.

2 Responses to “Water”

  1. livingoutsidethescreen June 1, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    When our little one refused to take the bottle, our doc said it’s now a battle of the wills. So we challenged her, and she starved herself and screamed for almost 24 hours before finally taking the bottle. Remember, you have the upper hand because BB can’t get up and fix himself his formula himself. Eventually, he will figure out that screaming does not help.

  2. Peter June 2, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    I like your attitude, though I suspect that starving out the babe is not yet in the cards. I’m not sure we’re quite in a place where we need need need to bend him to our will…

Leave a Reply

