Feels like it’s been a while

14 Mar

I know, right? 5 days, and I’m feeling like I’m neglecting my journal. The pressure to keep up, man, it’s tough. I continue my campaign of daily, impromptu forms of kindness. A good friend chimed in on some tempest in a teacup thing with some travel arrangements, noting that he refuses to get upset at things that don’t upset him. Hells yes, good advice. I refuse to get upset at stuff that doesn’t upset me.

To clarify about Portland, it’s a combination of a real place we often consider moving, but also our shorthand for a place that we might move to if we were un-moored from NYC and didn’t know where we wanted to land. We learned that others think of this as Philadelphia. Some even think of Queens. But there is definitely a sense among our friends that if we could get it together with some friends/family, we would collectively move somewhere. I read this as a desire for more community, that many of us really lack, as well as the warm-fuzzies that we often feel when we spend time with people whom, you know, we actually like. Also, it’s an acknowledgment that our lives are really not tied to anyplace right now.

What else? Sleep has now occupied that space in Baby Mama’s brain where the latest anxiety/project/obsession goes. I’m continually impressed by her ability to fill this space with varied stuff (breastfeeding, the state of our apartment, housing, her job, whether to have a child). And though I often make fun of her for never letting this space stay empty and, well, make her less anxious, I do also benefit pretty dramatically from her anxieties. I know, right? Win-win. I get to make fun of her for her anxieties, feel superior to her for it, and then benefit from the spate of activity that happens as a result.

So, right, sleep. As a marker in the sand, the baby is now 3 months old, as of yesterday. And he has slept, over the past 2-3 weeks, from 7:30 or 8pm to about 12:30pm (last night was weird, with Daylight Savings Time, and he slept until 11:30). Then we feed him, and he goes back to sleep, until about 4 or 4:30am. Then we feed him again, and he sleeps until 6:30-7:30am. Sometimes he’ll go back to sleep after that, but it’s really hit-or-miss. But it’s generally a 5 hour, 4 hour, 3 hour pattern. And we feed and change him in between each period.

Baby mama is equipped with expert opinion and a plan, to make him sleep more and longer. I am a big advocate of the rear naked choke (i.e., the Sleeper Hold), but this apparently is not on the table. Which is bullshit, because that bad boy is proven by Science™

5 Responses to “Feels like it’s been a while”

  1. Davin March 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    #1. Yes, it has been a while. You’ve got a dedicated readership, y’know, and we have needs too.

    #2: Shit, I coulda taught you how to apply a rear naked choke any time you wanted. Complete with trivia too (didja know the Brazilian term translates to “lion killer”?)… Ooh, and I can talk your ear off re: dramatic rear naked chokes in MMA fights — Hughes-Trigg 1 & 2, Penn-Hughes 1, Silva-Henderson, Emelianenko-Fujita, etc…

  2. Davin March 14, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Yeah, I know, Fedor finished Fujita with that nasty Judo rear straight choke, and it’s probably an air choke as much as a blood choke, blah blah blah.
    Same idea, though.

  3. livingoutsidethescreen March 14, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re spreading some kindness in the world, as I am failing miserably (again).

  4. Ethan March 14, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Queens ain’t no Philly (which in turn, ain’t no Portlandia.) Meanwhile, here we are with a helluvah warm, fuzzy community in Brooklyn (if we’ll allow ourselves to have it.)

    Oh, and apropos of the turmoil in the M’East, I recommend you send Ben to bed with the Camel Clutch.

  5. Peter March 15, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    After careful consideration of both Camel Clutch and Lion Killer, I decided to go with a swaddle, quiet shusshing, and 20 minutes of the Baroque Masterpieces playlist. I know, it’s not quite the same.

Leave a Reply

