indignity

4 Mar

Our baby has a bit of blood in his poop, which is apparently attributable to tiny cuts by his anus and possibly allergies to something or other that baby mama is eating. So now baby mama has to cut out dairy (the loss of cheese, not just unpasteurized cheese, is brutal), and we have to do some wash/clean/ointment deal for his butt cheeks. I wish I could make some of this shit up, but it’s all very real and happening.

And for a certain friend, baby mama went to the pediatrician with a bag of pooped-in diaper. So, yeah, it’s high times in the Brooklyn Dad household.

3 Responses to “indignity”

  1. livingoutsidethescreen March 4, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    HA! I love it! (the diaper)
    Tell Baby Mama not to cut out dairy. Not that I’m a doctor or anything, but talk to our pediatrician. He claims that only a miniscule percentage of babies are actually allergic to dairy, and it’s a weird sick trend (my words, his implication) to tell moms not to eat it. I think just about every new mom I know at some point cut out dairy and there was no benefit (except to deprive the baby of much-needed calcium). We went through the same blood thing with our little one, and my friends were all telling me they had the same thing, so they cut out dairy, our pediatrician said not to, so I didn’t, and all was fine.

  2. Alan March 5, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    I philosophically agree with the comment above (i.e. doctors are too quick to just say “cut out dairy” these days)…but at the same time, it worked for my sister in the sense that my nephew really is severely allergic to dairy. Of course all that means is that there are indeed some circumstances when the advice makes sense, but whether to interpret that as “a stopped clock is right twice a day” or otherwise is a tough one. I’m sorry for your frustration with this!

  3. Peter March 7, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    For now, I’m a little with Living with this, but baby mama is going to stick with cutting out dairy. The problem, as you point out Alan is that either getting rid of dairy due to allergies or time is going to solve the problem. But absent some sort of way to measure the effects of time on the blood/poop problem, it appears that dairy is going to be seen as the solution.

    I would suggest switching to formula only for 4-5 days, but that would make me a monster..

Leave a Reply

