Expertise swap

20 Jan

I have two friends who want to learn how to cook, one wants to make bread and the other wants to make chocolate chip cookies. It turns out, I know how to do both of these things. Meanwhile, I would like to learn to sew, and how to write a business plan. Perhaps we could work out some kind of expertise swap? In fact, I’d love to do this with any number of people. I want to learn to do lots of things, many of them crafty. I’d like to learn how to use Adobe Illustrator (because I’d love to make my own board book, and I’m completely inspired. I want to learn to sew (because I’m super-inspired by this playhouse under the table). I’d love to learn your family recipe for empanadas, or whatever it is that you loved as a child. I’m dying to learn how to actually use the DSL camera we’ve had for years, and not just take wan, yellow-ish pictures of stuff and people in our apartment over and over and over. We have a video camera, but I’m not so good at iMovie. Are you? I want in.

I can cook pretty well, including some fun recipes that I learned from the mother of all family cavatelli-making sessions (grandma watched the clock, waiting for it to tick noon so she could have her wine, and mom thought I did a good enough job that she bought me a cavatelli roller as a gift!). I can make excellent cookies, I can share my super-secret prototype for a cookbook I once made, I know how to use WordPress pretty well, I know about web hosting, HTML coding, some PHP. I can use statistics, SPSS and Stata. I know how to draft a questionnaire. I can help you set up Google Voice, and other technologies. I’m quite an editor.

So let’s get this shit together. I’m expertise-seeky, and you’ve got what I need.

5 Responses to “Expertise swap”

  1. Amy January 22, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    I’m really hoping I’m the friend who wants to learn to bake bread, because I thought my 1st attempt at chocolate chip cookies went pretty well…a little on the well-done side, but still pretty yummy. Wow, you’ve got a lot of skills, man. Now I really need to think about it — do I really want to bake bread, or perhaps learn to use Stata?

    Hope return to work is going ok – will give you guys a call to catch up soon.

  2. Peter January 23, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    You are, you are! And unless you have a specific reason to learn Stata, or a project you want to use statistics for, go with the bread. You can eat it! Yum!

  3. livingoutsidethescreen January 23, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I need to learn/re-learn Stata/SPSS – what’s the difference? I can teach you how to use your camera on manual. You’ll get to use it when your baby turns 25. Until then, auto is the way to go.

  4. Peter January 27, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    The two stats programs are competitors, we use SPSS for our undergrads, it may be a simpler interface. Not sure what you would need with the generalized skillset, as opposed to having a particular project in mind.

    As for the camera, you’re so pessimistic! I’m trying hard to claim some time here, work with me, no undermining allowed!

  5. livingoutsidethescreen January 27, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Career crisis requires knowledge of Stats programs…used to do it in my former life.
    Very happy to transfer camera knowledge anytime. May motivate me to get back into it as well.

Leave a Reply

