Situation no win, thrush for a change in atmosphere

9 Jan

So, of course we are battling the Thrush monster. And by we, I mean, my baby and my baby mama. It’s basically a yeast infection that gets into the baby’s mouth, and into the breastfeeding mother’s breasts. The main symptom in her case is burning pain every time she nurses. Fun! And even more fun, once you cure it in the mother, the infant re-contaminates her with his mouth. And when you cure it in the baby’s mouth, the mother re-contaminates the baby with her breast. Rinse, repeat.

But we are on the case, with the diflucan. And so in our household, diflucan (prounounced who knows how, but in our household it’s pronounced with a slight German accent, short i, accent on the flu – as in “You veel talk, or I veel kick you in zee diflucan.”)

In fact, I love the sound of this drug so much I’ve begun using it as a catch-all word around the house: I’m going to diflucan the dishes; Oh shit, the baby put his foot in the diflucan diaper again; if I don’t some diflucan sleep soon, I’m going to lose my fricken’ diflucan.

If we can get rid of the thrush, and get some diflucan sleep, we would really be running on rails for now. Things otherwise seem to be going well. Mother-in-law, who has been in town since the birth, is gone for a week, and then leaving at the end of January. We’re taking our show on the road in February, to meet-n-greet my family in Chicago (I know, Chicago in diflucan February!). And in March, baby mama goes back to work (and I haven’t yet found a childcare solution, which needs its own post, really).

Plus, you don’t know this, but listening to the Big Audio Dynamite song Rush (from whence “situation no win”) on my now-wife but then-awesome-traveling-friend’s borrowed tape, while we were wandering about Europe in 1992 was one of the highlights of my life. The traveling, not the diflucan song.

3 Responses to “Situation no win, thrush for a change in atmosphere”

  1. Davin January 9, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Heh. Now that I think about it, you could have fun mispronouncing the generic name of the drug too. Say “fluckin’ azhole” fast around any health care type person, and they’ll know what you mean. Maybe I should start using that pronunciation around my patients…

  2. livingoutsidethescreen January 9, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Pfizer drug. Pronounced Die-flu-can. Unfortunate name.

  3. Peter January 10, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Whatever the name, it seems to be working…so we’ll take that.

Leave a Reply

