If you’re gonna get stuck in a look, it might as well be a look with some damn dignity.

7 Oct

I really like Sweet Juniper. I first read about this family who moved to Detroit when I came across this heart-breaking photo and its attendant explanation. The blog itself is about the trials, trevails and triumphs of living in the most neglected 21st century city in America. Plus, I fully intend to steal his card.

This post of his, about how he has decided to move away from the Park Sloped 40-Something tattooed dads dressed like 20-something crackheads, and towards something more dignified – work shirts, work boots, wool socks. I sympathize, though being in NYC I’ve never been much of a Mandals kind of guy. I have been trying to fill out my closet with something nicer than jeans and t-shirts, without it being super-fancy or too fashion-forward. Maybe a little Put This On, but without the fastidiousness or fawning over Cary Grant.

And my wife. She’s gone for some pretty cutie-cute tops while pregnant, to be sure. But on the other hand, we went to Banff, Canada on vacation this summer, where she picked up a sweatshirt from the Roots store. “What do you think?” says she. Says me, “It looks great. It says ‘I’m pregnant, and I have given up.'”

2 Responses to “If you’re gonna get stuck in a look, it might as well be a look with some damn dignity.”

  1. jdg October 10, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    heh. I was in nyc this past july/august and could hardly believe how many mandals I saw on the subway, which after the summer y’all had is understandable. . . but at the end of the day I wouldn’t want to be washing the grime off my feet.

  2. Peter October 10, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Must be tourists. In my experience, NYC’ers rarely wear sandals, and rarely wear shorts. It’s a tell, to ID the locals. BTW, your blog is great – and I’m not kidding about stealing your gentleman of leisure calling card.

Leave a Reply

