Current State of Emotional Play

22 Aug

I showed this picture to my wife the other day, and she started crying:

So you can see that the world is sitting on a knife’s edge round my house these days. When I worked on a trading floor in my early 20s, a guy there was talking about his wife who was pregnant at the time. He said he offered her a glass of wine and said “either you drink it, or you’re wearing it.” He was funny, but a total asshole. Nonetheless I have often thought about that line and what domestic life he had lurking behind it.

For myself, there is not much to be said for a lack of patience on my part (and on the non-birthing partners’ parts in general). After all, stress, changes to body, hormones, all are happening to her-not-me. And it is surprising how poignant this photo is, you wouldn’t expect Kermit to be so expressive. And yet, I am definitely living in a fragile emotional ecosystem.

The image is from nerd boyfriend, a totally sticky site, with pictures of actors and artists and authors and people, and where to buy their wardrobe.

By the way, she also kind of cried over this one.

Leave a Reply

