Just breathe

17 Aug

Well, there are top-line results and longer-term results for an amniocentesis test, and the top-line results look good. That’s a screen for the most common forms of chromosomal disorder. Partner is still freaked out, apparently she thinks it would be some kind of big deal to terminate a pregnancy in the 20th week. I know, right? We could still be looking at something serious, we’ll know in 7-10 days. And I’m sure that as anyone who’s waited for fateful results knows, this is the fun part.

My therapeutic response was to double down. I had her write down a bunch of things that she would be happy doing with the future, potential kid. Yep, if things go south now, I’ve raised the bar of her positive expectations. And that, my friends, is the worst way to approach my wife’s emotional/cognitive way of doing things. But I figure, really, is it going to be that much more traumatic than it would already be? What could go wrong, right?

Anyhow, the things are kind of sweet, and I’m swiping her notebook for quasi-public consumption. Yep, I’m a dick. Here are some of the things my wife is looking forward to doing with kid; my own list will follow soon, I’m sure. We don’t know the sex of the fetus, so I’m alternating him/her, read nothing into it:

  • kiss her belly
  • hug him
  • put a cute little outfit on him
  • hear about her day at school
  • find out his favorite food
  • watch her laugh
  • teach him to swim
  • get her hats

Of course, my list is going to include things like teach her to play with electricity, make paper fortune tellers, and buy her a slingshot. Anyhow, time to breathe a second while we await fuller results, and perhaps hope that the universe doesn’t totally fuck us over.

3 Responses to “Just breathe”

  1. Ivy August 17, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Woo hoo! (and fingers crossed)

  2. Davin August 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Congrats on top-line goodness, and (what is statistically more meaningful) congrats on 24hrs-plus after amnio. Supportive thoughts continue to flow from the UWS…

    BTW, a good point brought up by Ms. Ivy: have you guys ever seen my “simian crease”? Yeah, I only have one transverse palmar crease on my left hand. It’s a finding correlated with Down’s. Just something to keep in mind while fingers are being crossed…

  3. Peter August 18, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Thanks to you both, very sweet sentiments. Got your message, but alas it bumped up against the China call time. I’m soon to be all about the “life list”, by the way.

Leave a Reply

