Fatherhood blogs

31 Jul

While I am sure there are a ton of good ones (and I’m just starting to look), I was trying to decide on a URL – brooklyndad.com is taken, and while I don’t mind using WordPress’ site itself, I’m used to having more control by hosting it myself. On the other hand, I ran across NYCFather.com’s home screen:

NYCFather.com screen cap

Um, ok. Domain parking and all, but still, WTF? I’m either sticking with this or going with brooklynfather.com

3 Responses to “Fatherhood blogs”

  1. Davin August 5, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Actually Ivy here…what about brooklyndad? brooklyndada (and I’m not talking impressionist art). Or the oh-so-genteel “brooklynpere”?

  2. Peter August 6, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    Well, brooklyndad.com is taken, there is .net or .org, etc. I can keep the wordpress site as is (w/brooklyndad url).

    Brooklynpere.com, that is waaaaayyy too precious.

  3. Davin August 8, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    Ivy again…yeah, I was joking. As awesome as your blog is, if it got renamed “brooklynpere”, I might have to stop reading it.

    How about forgetting the location part and being more descriptive about you – sociologistdad or dadsociology? Or ditch descriptives about you and go for the tone/goal of your blog – snarkydad/snarkdad, contrarianfather, examiningfatherhood, etc?

    I have to say, I think all of the above actual url names are terrible, but you get the idea. Will continue to brainstorm in the hopes of coming up with something minimally acceptable.

Leave a Reply

